diy projects from once wed

January 7, 2010

I’m still not convinced that I’m going to DIY anything for my wedding, but at the same time, I know my budget isn’t going to allow for tons and tons of Etsy purchases, either.

Just in case I decide to sew or craft something (for the first time in my life), I’m going to bookmark Once Wed’s fabric pom tutorial. Speaking from experience, chinese lanterns are a really cute, colorful way to decorate… but also speaking from experience, hanging them up with nails and thumbtacks and fishing wire is no easy feat.

Once Wed also had this super cute fabric flower garland tutorial, but I think it involves a lot more crafting-skill, of which I am sorely lacking.

Now that I come to think of it, Once Wed also had a really pretty boutonniere DIY using herbs… I’m not sure how easy it’ll be to make them look as pretty as they do in the images below, but it’s probably worth a shot. I’m not too picky about flowers and such, so if anything, I’ll probably try to DIY or ask a friend to help me DIY my bouquets and such. Then again, maybe not.

A lot of the brides I’ve worked with have found themselves SUPER busy the last week before the wedding and I’m pretty sure the last thing they wanted to have on their To-Do list is a bunch of DIY projects. Since herbs (and flowers) don’t last very long, florists are generally the busiest riiiight before the wedding. Unfortunate!

Ideally, anything that can be done months in advance should be done months in advance… like DIY projects and printing programs and out-of-town guest baskets, etc.

Anyway, I’m still ring-less and wedding-theme/venue/date/anything-less… so it won’t hurt to dream a little :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

