diy – calligraphy

December 5, 2009

To be completely honest, I have no idea where to start this blog. I have TONS of ideas from poring over blogs, helping friends plan their weddings, and dreaming up my own. It’s overwhelming to imagine putting everything to paper… so I won’t. I’m sure it’ll all come out eventually, but for now, I’m just going to post whatever I feel like.

The other day, there was a post on Oh Happy Day! about calligraphy and it caught my attention. I have no idea what my wedding budget will look like, but with the future-fiancee on track for dental school, it’s very likely that we’ll want to minimize wedding expenses. Again, I don’t know what this will look like, but I’m pretty sure there isn’t going to be budget allocated to calligraphy (or letterpress, but that’s another sob story).

Laura Hooper has pretty much exploded all over the blog world over the past few months, and with good reason. Her work is gorgeous! I love fonts, but calligraphy… there’s just something so much more enticing about handmade.

Look! Aren’t these beeeeeeautiful?

Anyway, the post referenced a tutorial over at Project Wedding that basically suggests getting calligraphy tools and practicing it on your own. I’m a little intimidated by the ink and the pens but really, really love the look of personalized paper goods. A quick Google search (look for another post about how much I love Google) took me to this page that looks helpful too… I’ll post any results, if I convince myself to do it!

One Response to “diy – calligraphy”

  1. junia Says:

    actually a lot of my old sunday school teachers did it themselves.. and it really does get better with practice. (if pressed for time, do unimportant invites first haha. save family for last)


Leave a Reply

