not at my wedding

December 5, 2009

Maybe this will be first in a series of posts on things I definitely, definitely don’t want at my wedding.

Tell me what’s wrong with this picture:

There’s nothing at all wrong with the beautiful bride and her groom, the bridesmaids or the groomsmen… and even the church (despite the blah carpet and wood paneling).

But… DO YOU SEE WHAT I SEE?

Yep, that’s what I thought.

I’m totally serious when I say that the first thing I noticed in this picture were the OUTLETS. the OUTLETS! Who in the world would want to show off her wedding pictures and have everyone notice the stinkin’ OUTLETS?!

My friend was one of the bridesmaids in this wedding and she posted pictures on her Facebook earlier this week. I looked through them as I would any other wedding album, until I got to the aforementioned picture. I just couldn’t get over the outlets. The rest of the wedding was beautiful and the photographer (who will remain unnamed, because I’m not that cruel) took a lot of pretty shots of the couple, but seriously- the outlets.

From a more business-y perspective… I skimmed through the photographer’s blog and they’re definitely not bad. However, I did notice that they excluded this group picture from the blog post, and unfortunately, even though their blog readers will be spared from seeing the outlet-picture, many, many other people will. Especially in the age of social media where you can share hundreds of pictures with the click of a button, you can’t afford mistakes. (I mean, I don’t know the bride or groom but hello, Facebook!) The bride and groom, their bridal party, and their family members are all scrutinzing these pictures and sharing them with their friends, who very well may be potential clients. Unfortunate.

Anyway, I’d terribly disappointed if my future wedding photographer made the same mistake and as long as I have anything to do with it, outlet-pictures will NOT be at my wedding.

Leave a Reply

