in lieu of cake

January 8, 2010

I’m not a big cake (or cupcake) person. With the exception of ice cream cake (ex: from the amazing Bi-Rite Creamery), most of the time cake is just… cake. (And to be completely honest, I think I mostly like ice cream cake for the ice cream.) It’s really strange because I am a HUGE sweets person–I love chocolate, all kinds of cookies, scones, brownies, etc… but cake just doesn’t do it for me.

Therefore, it would probably make me really sad if I *had* to buy a wedding cake. Although they can be beautiful and have a lot of tradition behind them, I think I’d prefer to opt for something different.

Thankfully, I’m not alone! Even aside from the huge cupcake phenomenon, there are tons of couples choosing nontraditional desserts & dessert-bars.

Some examples…

Dessert spreads/buffets by Amy Atlas (the most well-known in this area) are all over the place. She’s done dozens of dessert spreads for a wide variety of events and they’re always gorgeous. Unfortunately, because she’s such a huge name, I probably can’t afford her.

a birthday party featured on SMP

a very festive looking candy bar on Black Eiffel

The Sweet and Saucy Shop is another popular SoCal bakery and their spreads look pretty dang perfect!

From a wedding that Ashley Rose shot

A spread they did for a wedding posted on GWS

So, yes. There are tons of alternatives! If we end up having a summer wedding, the idea of busting out ice cream and/or fro-yo are also very, very exciting possibilities. Snippet & Ink posted a wedding a while back with mini-ice cream cones (squeal!) and Ritzy Bee recently posted about a sundae bar… both very cute, fun ideas. I imagine the sundae bar could get a little messy though.

Fro-yo, however, is more-or-less uncharted territory. I have no idea how hard it is to cart those frozen yogurt machines around, but I pretty much consumer tart yogurt with mochi at Yogurtland like it’s water and both my boyfriend & I have friends or family who own fro-yo franchises. Apparently, Pinkberry’s already on the ball and Caroline Tran shot a wedding in September where they had Pinkberry catering! I found out through the Inspired By This blog, which has a little more info.

Conclusion is, I don’t want to have cake at the wedding and apparently I don’t have to… and it’s nice to know I’m not the only one :)

One Response to “in lieu of cake”


  1. […] is essentially free from the tap), snacks and treats (you know how much I love snacks and treats, don’t you?), and an itinerary/map for the […]


Leave a Reply

